The Gender and Sexuality Equity Awards

Each year, the Margaret Sloss Women's Center and Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Student Services present individuals with awards and scholarships during the Gender & Sexuality Equity Awards Reception. Awards recognize individuals and groups that have advanced gender and sexuality equity for women, LGBTQIA+ people, and other gender and sexual minorities via leadership, campus involvement, and/or leadership of women, LGBTQIA+ students, adult and non-traditional students, and single parents.

The following scholarships and awards are available for NOMINATIONS and SUBMISSIONS.


Previous Recipients

2015 Award Recipients

  • Michael Giles- Director Recreation Services

2014 Award Recipients

  • Dr. Valerie Hennings- Scholar-in-Residence, Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics
  • Megan Komos- Junior, Industrial Engineering

2012 Award Recipients

  • Lissa Stapleton - Doctoral Student in Higher Education
  • Diane Debinski, Ph.D -  Professor in the Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology 

2011 Award Recipients

  • Elizabeth Hoffman, Ph.D. - Executive Vice President and Provost
  • Ahna Kruzic - Senior, Sociology, Women’s and Gender Studies
  • LaDan Omidvar - Architecture Lecturer, Founder of Iowa Women in Architecture

2010 Award Recipients

  • Ana Prokos, Ph.D. - Assistant Professor Sociology 
  • Kipp Van Dyke - Asssistant Director Student Assistance & Outreach
  • Ashley Schmuecker - Senior, Religious Studies/Gender & Women Studies

2009 Award Recipient

  • Ashley Hand - Response Services Coordinator, ACCESS

2008 Award Recipient

  • Kathy Hickok, Ph. D.- Professor English

2007 Award Recipients

  • Sharon Bird, Ph.D. - ISU ADVANCE Co-PI Team and Associate Professor of Sociology
  • Julie Snyder-Yuly, M.S. - Assistant Director of the Women's Studies Program and Assistant Director of the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics
  • Alissa Stoehr, B.L.S., B.S. - Graduate student in the Interdisciplinary Graduate Studies Program

2006 Award Recipients

  • Christopher Brown, DVM - Dean of Veterinary Medicine, Michigan State University
  • Susan Carlson, Ph.D. - Associate Provost, Iowa State University

For more information, contact 515-294-4154 or